Author Interview with William Kostakis

This month we chat with author William Kostakis who wrote Loathing Lola, a young adult novel we really love here at TLC Books.

Tell us a little about yourself and your book, Loathing Lola.

I’m a 21-year-old TV blogger and journalist based in Sydney. Loathing Lola is my first novel, a satiric look at the Australian TV industry and private school life. It’s been described as Chuck Palahniuk meets Gossip Girl meets Jersey Shore ­– when I first heard that, I didn’t know whether to be flattered, offended, or consider therapy. I decided to take it as a compliment and run with it. It’s a ‘Girl’ Book, written by a (then-teenaged) guy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Which of your characters is most like you, and in what way(s)?

The three leads are different versions of me. I see protagonist Courtney as my goodie-two-shoes side (had it not died off before high school), Tim is more-or-less me now, only he’s better at Maths, and Katie has the penchant for innuendo that I have after a six-pack.

Which of your characters would you most/least to invite to dinner, and why?

Yiayia Susie is a definite dinner guest. Based word-for-word on my grandmother, I know she’d 1) cook and 2) say inappropriate things. As for not invite? The Vs. I’d draw a ring of chalk around the table and douse the house in holy water to keep them away…

Do you read reviews of your books? If so, do you pay any attention to them, or let them influence your writing?

Reviews are important. Stories have two creators, writers and readers. While writers shouldn’t shape their works to please reviewers, as a writer, you have to listen, because if your story isn’t working for a reader, then, more often than not, you’ve done something wrong. I didn’t have a tough time with reviewers, Lola was well-received critically. (Commercially? Not so much). But I’ve had a tough time as a reviewer, and been told, by authors I’m reviewing, that I “can’t be negative” because “I know how hard it is to write a book”. Well, sorry, it’s not hard to write a crap book, and if it’s crap, I’ll say it is. I won’t say it’s great because then you’ll do it again. 🙂

Do you have anything new in the works?
Yes. It’s coming along really well, but constantly evolving, so if I start talking, I’ll look like an idiot when it comes out and is completely different.

TLC Books has a limited number of signed editions of Loathing Lola available.

Leave a Reply

